top of page

Munting Nayon: Ontario-Filipino Community Celebrates International Women's Day

By: Tony A. San Juan, OCT-Retired

Published 10 April 2022

I.W.D.Awardees, L-R: Jean Pardo, Annabelle Migalbin, Helen Lao, Tess Cusipag, Beverly Vergel, B. K. Jimenez, Teresa Torralba, and Janet Lim.

The Filipino-Canadian community held its first "International Women's Day" in Toronto, Ontario on April 3, 2022. Sponsored by Ms. Agnes P. Miranda of World Financial Group( WFG) and organized by the Philippine Independence Day Council (PIDC), the 8- hour event honoured 80 deserving women of distinction in Ontario, Canada. The historic occasion was held at the FV Foods Banquet Hall, Scarborough, Toronto with 150 dignitaries, special guests, and recipients in attendance.

PIDC Directors and Officers. L-R: Aris Elefano, Danny Orbillo. Suzy Llanera, Rory Elefano, Agnes Miranda, Ramon Estaris, Jean Pardo, and Melinda Manlapaz.

Distinctively, this was the first-ever event conducted "under one roof "to appreciate the many accomplishments and achievements "ng mga kababaihan".. of Filipino women regarding their "individual leadership, valuable advocacy work, and significant contributions" to business, finance, medicine, media, entrepreneurship, education, social, civic, and political affairs, and specific interests in the Ontario landscape. The event honourees received their "Medallions" and "Certificates of Appreciation" from WFG and PIDC, respectively, as well as congratulatory scrolls from Federal Members of Parliament Marco Mendicino, and Shaun Chen.

Led by Ms. Agnes P. Miranda, WFG senior executive vice-chairman and Ramon Estaris, PIDC president , the other distinguished event guests who also gave inspirational and congratulatory remarks included Philippine Consul General Orontes Castro, Federal Members of Parliament Rechie Valdez, Salma Zahid & Ya'ara Saks, MPP candidates Paul Saguil & Mazhar Shafiq, and CMC-AO's Sid Ikeda & Mar-Mar Cho. WFG's Agnes Miranda, in her special address, "exhorted everyone coming to terms with characteristic reciprocal understanding, desirable unity, and full cooperation" among the strategic players and influencers "for a much better and more productive Filipino Canadian community".

Honouree Norma Carpio ( 2nd Left) received her Certificate of Appreciation and Medallion.

The occasion was jointly hosted by Danny Orbillo and Ramon Estaris who also both rendered popular songs. Among the notable recipients were Cecille Araneta,Wendy Arena, Carol Banez, Jenifer Camacho, Lilac Cana, Norma Carpio, Mar-Mar Cho, Paulina Corpuz, Corie Coutts, Tess Cusipag, Claire De la Gana, Donna Estaris, Marie Ikeda, B. K. Jimenez, Agnes Miranda, Ella Miranda, Gizele Mirasol, Mila Nabor, Michelle Ramos, Nita Redjik, Theresa Redula, Mary Ann San Juan, Christine Santos, Monina Serrano, Teresa Torralba, and Beverly Vergel. Other honourees were all the female officers of PIDC and other community women leaders & personalities.( A complete list of awardees is available at www.

PIDC and WFG I.W.D. Honouree Suzy Llanera with Ramon Estaris MP Rechie Valdez, and Ms. Agnes Miranda.

Among the musical entertainers were Lilac Cana, Marivic Fuentes, Ryan Orlanda, Chyrell S. Ronquillo, and Zeny Zagala. The lively event was ably coordinated by the PIDC Board of Directors & Executive Officers composed of Aris Elefano, Rory Elefano, Suzy Llanera, Melinda Manlapaz, Danny Orbillo, and Jean Pardo. They were equally supported by Ben Corpuz,Tom Tan, Nanding Ticzon, and Al Tupe.

The celebration, as hopefully expected, was an enjoyable and memorable evening of good fun, food, & fellowship, sharing, mutual understanding, and wonderful revelry.

( Tony A. San Juan, OCT-Retired)


bottom of page