top of page

FCT RCJ-OSA Awards Ceremony, 2022

Since 2005, the FCT has been hosting the Rosalinda C. Javier Outstanding Student Awards, which seek to encourage and challenge Filipino-Canadian students to excel in school performance and achieve student success. This year marks the 16th anniversary of these ceremonies, and awards were given on October 29th, 2022, in a ceremony held at the Filipino Centre Toronto.

The awardees at the ceremony.

This year, twelve outstanding students were awarded -- two elementary school graduates, seven secondary school graduates, and three post-secondary graduates. These twelve were selected by the OSA Committee, including various Filipino-Canadian professionals and educators:

Jodelyn Huang - TCDSB Community Relations Officer

Steve Pagao - Philippine Chamber of Commerce-Toronto President

Mary Ann San Juan - Filipino Centre Toronto President/CEO

Fermer Santos - TDSB High School Vice-Principal

Rose Tijam - Philippine Press Club Ontario President

Tony A. San Juan - Filipino Heritage Council of Canada Founder, and OSA Chairman

This year's awardees boast a slew of academic accomplishments, ranging from suma cum laude titles, to valedictorian statuses and various subject awards. They all exhibited a strong desire to help out in their respective communities through volunteer work and student-led projects. The accomplishments and achievements of these graduates all exhibit the tenacity and discipline of today's youth.

Alongside the students recognized at today's ceremony, Philippine swimmer Chloe Isleta was awarded a Certificate of Achievement. She recently took home gold at the ASEAN games in Thailand.

In the presence of the great Filipino-Canadian leaders of tomorrow, the FCT looks forward to the future.

2022 Elementary School Graduate Awardees:

Felicia Pagulayan - Most Outstanding Elementary Award

Isaiah Diwa

2022 Secondary Graduate Awardees:

David Nicholas de Castro - Most Outstanding Secondary Award

Princess Lerie Ammugauan

Sophia Arellano

Yzabella Bernasor

Joshua Manuel Manrique

Iain Matthew Pasia Sanchez

Raichel Santos

2022 Post-Secondary Graduate Awardees:

Althea Elise Reyes

Carolyn Jessica Tanuan

Jeremy Christian Tanuan


bottom of page