top of page

Munting Nayon: 2021 Rosalinda C. Javier Outstanding Students Awards

By: Tony A. San Juan OCT-Retired

March 17, 2022

The Filipino Centre Toronto-FCT, a 22 -year old community-based, service-focused & volunteer-run hub in the Greater Toronto Area(GTA), has aptly recognized and honoured 10 top student graduates in Ontario during its 16th "Annual Rosalinda C, Javier Outstanding Students Awards Day" (RCJOSA) on March 13, 2022, at the FCT Social Hall, Scarborough, Toronto, Ontario. Celebrated yearly, the competition aims to encourage, challenge, and recognize Filipino-Canadian students to achieve academic excellence and success.

The 10 Outstanding Student Awardees with Event Guests and FCT officers

The current crop of honourees belonged to those who completed their respective elementary, high school, and post-secondary studies in the school year of 2020-2021. Those who received awards are three Grade 8 graduates: Nicolas Manlapaz of San Lorenzo Ruiz Catholic Elementary School-YCDSB; Mariella Gayle Bernasor of Our Lady Of Peace Catholic Elem. School- DPCDSB; and Maria Angela Alampay of Fr. Daniel Zanon School-DPCDSB; and three Grade12 graduates: Joanna Flor Chumacera of St. Basil Catholic High School-TCDSB; Kairra Clemente of Francis Liberman Catholic High School-TCDSB; & Jacob William Santos Bouckley of All Saints Catholic Secondary School-DCDSB. The post-secondary awardees are Samantha De Vera of McMaster University; Dennedy Yrvin Corcega of the University of Toronto; Ma. Lacson of CDI College; and Myles Matundan of the University of Toronto.