By: Tony A. San Juan, OCT-Retired

The Filipino Centre Toronto, a prominent Filipino Canadian community service hub in the Greater Toronto Area, slates its "Outstanding Students Awards" ceremonies on August 22, 2021, Sunday, 2;00 PM. at the FCT Social Hall, # 4395 Sheppard Avenue East, Scarborough, Toronto, Ontario M1S 1T9. The FCT outstanding students awards(OSA) program, presently known as the "Rosalinda C. Javier Outstanding Student Awards", is named in honour of the late FCT President and former GTA schoolteacher.

The OSA program is "envisioned to encourage the pursuit of excellence in all areas of learning among Filipino Canadian youth and students." Specifically, it is

designed purposefully to encourage and challenge students to achieve academic success and to develop their potentials to become productive members of society.

In its 14th year, the annual event will recognize 3 secondary and one post-secondary student-graduates who have demonstrated outstanding and exemplary academic performance in their respective studies for the school year 2019-2020. Since 2005, the FCT has awarded 124 outstanding students in three school levels. The yearly recognition program has been delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic crisis since early 2020. As required, the guests and invitees to the event are requested to strictly observe health and safety protocols for indoor gatherings.

The awardees were selected based upon the 4 major competition criteria as 1) Academic Grades Average( 50%), 2) Extra-Curricular Activities(15%), 3) Community Involvement(15%); and 4) Interview Performance( 20%). Honourees are presented with coveted Plaques of Recognition and cash prizes solicited from generous and notable leaders, professionals, families, and businesses in the Filipino Canadian community.

The FCT Outstanding Students Awards Committee(OSA) is composed of Filipino Heritage Council of Canada Founding Chairman Tony A. San Juan(OSA Chair), and TCDSB Community Relations Officer Jodelyn Huang, Philippine Chamber of Commerce-Toronto President Steve Pagao, FCT President & CEO Mary Ann San Juan(Co-chair), TDSB Agincourt Collegiate Institute Vice-Principal Fermer Santos, and Philippine Press Club-Ontario President Rose Tijam (Tony A. San Juan, OCT-Retired)

45 views0 comments